Gameboxes that use encrypted jpg's no longer open

Do you need help installing or using ZunTzu? Would you like to report a bug?

Moderators: Ichibrothers, Cambronne, Chobham_1980

Post Reply
Heath
101
Posts: 56
Joined: 24 Jul 2010, 19:40
Location: USA

Gameboxes that use encrypted jpg's no longer open

Post by Heath »

Hi,

I noticed that I can no longer launch games with encrypted graphics. Most gameboxes launch fine, but if you try one with encryption, ZunTzu crashes with:

version unknown
os Microsoft Windows NT 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1
framework 2.0.50727.5485
cpu count 8
System.ArgumentNullException: Value cannot be null.
Parameter name: InString
at System.Convert.FromBase64String(String s)
at ZunTzu.FileSystem.d.a()
at ZunTzu.FileSystem.d.e()
at ZunTzu.Graphics.c.d..ctor(a A_0, PixelFormat A_1)
at ZunTzu.Graphics.c.a.e()
at ZunTzu.Visualization.y.c.e()
at ZunTzu.Visualization.y.b(Int64 A_0)
at ZunTzu.b.b(String[] A_0)

I'm using Win 7, is anyone else seeing this? Is there a fix?

Thanks.
Chobham_1980
210
Posts: 111
Joined: 06 Feb 2016, 02:35

Post by Chobham_1980 »

Hi: Is there an exemplar listed in our 'Files' section?

Regards, Rich
Heath
101
Posts: 56
Joined: 24 Jul 2010, 19:40
Location: USA

Post by Heath »

Chobham_1980 wrote:Hi: Is there an exemplar listed in our 'Files' section?

Regards, Rich
Tannhauser has this problem, and is still available for download.
Chobham_1980
210
Posts: 111
Joined: 06 Feb 2016, 02:35

Post by Chobham_1980 »

Hi: I've read about encryption on the forum but have never looked for one.

I'll download the box and give it a whirl; if it works on my Win7/10 (upgraded 7 to Win 10) then maybe there is a lead to resolve the issue.

Regards, Rich
Chobham_1980
210
Posts: 111
Joined: 06 Feb 2016, 02:35

Post by Chobham_1980 »

Hi Heath:

It opened on my Win7 machine that was upgraded to Win10. I also checked it against an old XP; it opened too :o

I did notice that on both machines, when I rolled the die, it refreshed very sluggishly. Maybe you have some recent (vid or RAM) memory that went bad? I have 4 meg of RAM, so I kind of think it might be the case of not enough RAM or Vid RAM? :?

Or maybe the file you have has somehow corrupted? :x

If there are any folks out in ZunTzu land who can actually read his error report - - enlighten us!


Regards, Rich

PS I tried to go to the site listed in the game, and it seems defunct :(
User avatar
Bill Barrett
231
Posts: 343
Joined: 25 May 2008, 13:25

Post by Bill Barrett »

Yes, it works fine on my machine too (also Win10 upgraded from Win7).
Post Reply